Juicing

juicingCory and I decided to do a juice fast to start the new year. I know, cue the eye rolls…what a cliché way to start the new year! The truth is, we both are hopelessly addicted to sugar, dairy, and wheat so we figured this would be a good way to make a clean break and start fresh. And if my Christmas muffin-top shrinks a bit, well who am I to complain?

Yesterday was Day 1 and, on the whole, it wasn’t too bad. Our breakfast juice was good, our lunch juice had to be gagged down it was so bad, but our snack juice was killer! Around 5:30 we both desperately wanted to throw in the towel and order a pizza, but curbing that behavior is the whole reason we are doing this so we stuck to our guns and made it through. In the wake of our faltering determination, I made up a batch of homemade almond milk and having that thick, creamy drink a couple of hours before bed was a really good way to end the day.

I thought I would pick out the best juice from each day and post a recipe in case anyone wanted to try their hand at adding a little juice to their life.

Carrot-Cabbage Juice

I know the name makes it sound disgusting, and I was sure I would hate it, but it was surprisingly good! Just don’t take too big a whiff of it beforehand because the smell is in total disaccord with the taste. And I don’t have a picture, but it should look watery and light orange.

  • 1 head of cabbage (I used a green variety)
  • About 10 carrots
  • 2 apples (I used a sweeter Jonagold variety)
  • 1 knob of ginger (about the size of your thumb above the knuckle)

I like to juice by cutting things up and adding the flavors a bit at a time, but I’m sure it honestly doesn’t matter.

I’ll let you know tomorrow if we make it through today…

Speak your mind

