The tough times

Houseplant

 

2013 has been a rough year so far. I guess it’s bound to be when 10 days in one of your favorite people of all time leaves this world.

But it’s more than that too. Most of the year I’ve felt…off. And, yes, of course there have been great times, shining moments where everything is clear and I don’t have any worries and I’m, dare I say, happy. For the most part, however, I’ve felt like I’m trapped underneath a blanket. I’m hot and sweaty and everything is blurry and I can’t seem to get enough air. The more I fight the blanket the more tangled I become.

So, for now, I’m just taking it a day at a time, trying my best to get my head out from under the covers. I never used to talk about times like these, but I’m realizing how little value there is in carrying a great weight all on my own. Today, for the first time, I’m saying out loud that this year hasn’t been great so far, but I’m trying my best.

Speak your mind

